CCDHS athletes feted at All-Sports Banquet

Star Staff

Custer County District High School honored its 2016-17 athletes, dancers, cheerleaders, and speech and drama competitors at the annaul All-Sports Banquet on May 23.

Major award winners included senior multi-sport athletes Caleb Petross, Savanna Walker, Deven Doughty, Tori Ogolin, Tyler Burk and Jenna Swope.

Petross, who played football and track, and Walker, who played volleyball and track, won the Dan Stanton Memorial Award, named after the school’s former long-time football coach.

It is awarded to students with a minimum 3.0 GPA who played two sports all fours years of high school, and who exemplify the values of leadership, attitude, commitment and work ethic. The boys’ recipient must play football, and the girls’ recipient must be on the track team.

Burk and Swope were both three-sport athletes, and were the recipients of the Ashley Memorial Award.

Burk was on the football, basketball and track teams, while Swope played volleyball, basketball and softball. 

The award is given to senior athletes on the basis of athletic contributions in at least two sports, as well as school citizenship, community citizenship and scholarship.

Doughty and Ogolin received the Etchemendy/Kurkowski Memorial Award, given to seniors who letter in at least two varsity sports their senior year while maintaining a 3.3 GPA.

Doughty golfed and played tennis, and Ogolin was on the volleyball and softball squads.

Other award winners and three-sport athletes are listed below.



— Boys MVP: Deven Doughty

— Girls MVP: Ashtyn Swigart

— Peterson Award: Deven Doughty



— Boys MVP: Alex Mitchell

— Girls MVP: Morgan Vosler

— Boys Most Improved: Zach Austin

— Girls Most Improved: Charleigh Bradley

— Cowboy Award: Alex Mitchell

— Cowgirl Award: Heather Baker



— MVP: Jenna Swope

— Offensive Award: Tori Ogolin

— Defensive Award: Saige Diegel

— Hustle Award: Autumn Porter

— Leadership Award: Savanna Walker

— Coaches Award: Kylee Licht



— Offensive MVP: Tyler Burk

— Defensive MVP: Reilly Conely

— Sprandel Memorial: Jacob Swope

— Comer Memorial: Mason Dinardi

— Bo Laird Memorial: Zach Dinardi and Nate Simpson

— Most Improved: Ethan Anderson


Speech & Drama

— MVP: Dominick Judd



— MVP: Braxton Scheeler

— Most Dedicated: Kon Speelmon

— Most Inspirational: Kon Speelmon

— Most Improved: Joe Mendenhall

— Cowboy Up: Joel Raisler


Boys Basketball

— Assists, steals, 3-point percentage, rebounds, shutdown defense, all-conference & all-state: Tyler Burk

— Blocks: Kelly Irion

— Scoring, free throw percentage: Gabe Gundlach

— Charges taken, field goal percentage: Steven Ray

— Nation Memorial: Tyler Burk

— Denton Memorial: Gabe Gundlach


Girls Basketball

— Offensive MVP: Kaelei Koening

— Defensive MVP: Jenna Swope

— Denton Memorial: Kaelei Koening

— Most Steals: Jenna Swope

— Most Improved: Kyra Oakland

— Most Rebounds: Kaelei Koening

— Best Teammate: Dezi Chamberlin



— Most Spirit: Mija Cornelius

— Most Energetic: Breann Leidholt

— Most Dedicated: Elizabeth Gilbert

— Most Inspirational: Grace Blumhagen

— Most Improved: Emma Jones



— Fall MVP: Shyla Greer

— Winter MVP: Loundia Whicker

— Most Improved: Reegan Mosely

— Most Dedicated: Raquel Pierson


— Girls MVP: Emily Toennis

— Boys MVP: Deven Doughty and Christian Stradley

— Girls Most Improved: Maci Moore and Sam Fleming

— Boys Most Improved: Mason Harding

— Most Inspirational Girls: Alyssa Lohrke

— Most Inspirational Boys: Drake Davis



— Boys Track MVP: Tyler Burk

— Boys Field MVP: Jess Bellows

— Boys Wilson Award: Alex Mitchell

— Girls Track MVP: Morgan Vosler

— Girls Field MVP: Savanna Walker

— Girls Wilson Award: Myhia Metzenberg



— Offensive MVP: Jenna Swope

— Defensive MVP: Tori Ogolin 

— Most Improved: Alexa Kappel 

— Hustle Award: Autumn Porter

— Cowgirl Award: Madi Hill 

3-Sport Athletes

— Elise Anderson

— Cooper Austin

— Heather Baker

— Jess Bellows

— Tyler Burk

— Kaid Campbell

— Josie Chapweske

— Rachel Donnelly

— McKenna Friend

— Mason Harding

— Tristan Hirsch

— Kelly Irion

— Dayron Johnson

— Chaney LaPlante

— Raqi MCAuliffe

— Cameron Muri

— Tyler Nemetz

— Logan Peila

— Mackenzie Rask

— Steven Ray

— Derek Schneidt

— Kaden Stradley

— Jenna Swope

— Amber Taylor

— McKenzie Taylor

— Keith Vanderlaan 

— Charlie Vermeire


Memorial Awards

— Dan Stanton Memorial: Caleb Petross & Savanna Walker

— Etchemendy/Kurkowski Memorial: Deven Doughty & Tori Ogolin

— Ashley Memorial: Tyler Burk & Jenna Swope