All-Conference and All-State basketball players announced

Derrick Calhoun Star Staff Writer
Monday, March 23, 2020

Coaches throughout the Class A Eastern Division have voted, and the All-Conference and All-State selections for the division’s 2019-20 basketball season have been decided.

After the vote, four Custer County District High School Cowboy basketball players received All-Conference honors.

Those players are, senior Haden Warren received firstteam All-Conference honors, junior Jayden Venable received second-team All-Conference honors, and seniors Jack Cline and Quest Savery received third-team All-Conference honors. Warren also received All-State honors, one of three players in the division who received those honors along with Havre’s Kellan Detrick and Fergus’ Grayden Sanders.

“Haden, Jack, and Quest have been such an important part of our program, they are deserving and I am extremely happy for them,” head coach Houston Finn said. “Jayden is such a competitor and is going to really step into the leadership role next season. They all earned it.”

According to Finn, although no players surprised him this season, Warren’s role probably changed the most entering his senior season, stepping into the starting lineup and having an All-State season.

The Class A Eastern division also announced its coach of the year for the 2019-20 season, and Cowboys head coach Houston Finn received the honor.

“It is humbling to have the respect of the other great coaches,” he said. “Class A is extremely competitive and to have other coaches vote for you definitely feels good.”

According to Finn, the award, decided on by his peers in the coaching ranks, hasn’t been chosen for the last eight seasons in the division, but he has received the award five previous times prior to coming to Miles City.

(Contact Derrick Calhoun at or at 406-234-0450.)