6 forfeits lead to Cowboys win


With the regular season winding down, the Custer County District High School Cowboy wrestling team hosted Laurel and Billings Central last night in a pair of duals at the CCDHS gym. Sidney also wrestled both Central and Laurel.

The Cowboys earned a 42-39 win over Central, but then lost to Laurel 66-12. Sidney won both their duals easily, 74-6 over Central and 67-15 over Laurel.

For the Cowboys, it was their final duals of the season. They will be at the Hardin Invite this weekend and will be at the Eastern A Divisional next weekend.

Against Billings Central, the Cowboys dual got started at 132 pounds. Cowboy Torrey Watts trailed 6-4 after the first period and 8-6 after the second period. Midway through the third period, Watts scored a takedown of Dylan Norgens and pinned him at the 5:09 mark.

That would be the only match that the Cowboys would win on the night. The other six matches they won against Central came via forfeits.

Against Laurel, the Cowboys scored their 12 points on a pair of forfeits.

Billings Central 42, Miles City 39

98- Open. 106- Ethan Schaff, MC, win by forfeit; 113- Peyton Negethon, MC, win by forfeit; 120- Zach Wall, BC, p., Brandon Blumhagen, :18; 126- Haven Meged, MC, win by forfeit; 132- Torrey Watts, MC, p., Dylan Norgens, 5:09; 138- Pat Comstock,  BC, win by forfeit; 145- Matt Kale, BC, p., Sergio Salcido, 2:58; 152- Wyatt Smith, MC, win by forfeit; 160- Josh Sundgren, MC, win by forfeit; 170- Lyn Cooper, BC, p., Bryan Brush, 1:50; 182- Todd Dylan, BC, p., Lane Giovanetti, :15; 195- Jason Roberts, MC, win by forfeit; 220-Braden Watson, BC, dec., Cade Dickman, 16-9; Hwt- open.

Laurel 66, Miles City 12

98- Abi Canterauf, Lau, win by forfeit; 106- Ethan Schaff, MC, win by forfeit; 113- Jordan Shiver, Lau, p., Peyton Negethon, 1:20; 120- Clayton Carter, Lau, p., Brandon Blumhagen, 1:00; 126- Connor Ludwig, Lau, dec., Haven Meged, 7-1; 132- RJ Gill, Lau, dec., Torrey Watts, 12-10; 138- Brett McBuney, Lau, win by forfeit; 145- Tanner Branstetter, Lau, dec., Sergio Salcido, 6-2; 152- John Preller, Lau, p., Wyatt Smith, 1:45; 160- Kyle Canon, Lau, p., Josh Sundgren, 5:48; 170- Jon Jares, Lau, p., Bryan Brush, 2:19; 182- Kyle Howe, Lau, p., Lane Giovanetti, 3:18; 195- Open; 220- Caid Dickman, MC, win by forfeit; Hwt- Brandon Connelly, Lau, win by forfeit.