Herzog selected for East-West Shrine game


Custer County District High School senior Ben Herzog has been selected to play in the 68th annual Montana East-West Shrine Game.

Herzog was selected at both quarterback and safety for the game which will be played July 19th in Laurel.

As a senior, Herzog completed 99 of 192 passes for 1,352 yards and 14 touchdowns and also led the Cowboys in rushing with 779 yards and 13 more scores. 

The only three-year starter at quarterback in at least 40 years, Herzog owns pretty much every school passing record. In his career, Herzog completed 247 of 524 passes for 3,462 yards and 41 touchdowns. All are well ahead of the second best in school history.

Herzog was also a two-time All-Conference defensive back for the Cowboys.

Troy Purcell of Bozeman was named the head coach of the East Team. He has won state titles at Bozeman in 2010 and 2013. This is the third time he has been the head coach in the Shrine Game.

Rick Nordahl of Dillon was named the head coach of the West team. 

Other area players selected to the Shrine game are Jacob Bakken (corner) and Chase Bertelsen (defensive end) from Wibaux, Mason Melby (specialist) from Baker, Luke Schwagler (wide receiver) from Forsyth and Tucker Yates (defensive line) from Colstrip.

Two players from Calgary, Alberta have also been selected to play in the game, with one playing on each team.

East Roster

Quarterback- Ben Herzog, Miles City, 6’0, 175; Will Weyer, Bozeman, 6’5, 225.

Runningback- Seth Adams, Harlem, 6’1, 215; Hunter Gappmayer, Bozeman, 5’9, 200; Austin Kendall, Sidney, 5’10, 210; Alex Picicci, Billings Skyview, 5’8, 165.

Wide Receiver- Jory Fisher, White Sulphur Springs, 6’0, 170; Jackson Marsh, Plentywood, 6’4, 205; Zach Molyneaux, Chinook, 5’11, 170; Luke Schwagler, Forsyth, 5’9, 165.

Tight End- Brock Beede, Joliet, 6’5, 215; Eric Dawson, Great Falls CMR, 6’2, 205.

Offensive Tackle- Thomas Bear Robe, Billings Skyview, 6’4, 290; Jimmy Grinde, Great Falls CMR, 6’2, 245; Luke Gunderson, Glasgow, 6’2, 255.

Offensive Guard- Ben D’Alton, Billings Central, 6’3, 240; Colton Gavne, Livingston, 6’4, 257; Trevor Hopf, Billings Skyview, 6’5, 240.

Center- Zane Fox, Hunltey Project, 6’0, 260; Weston Marsh, Billings Central, 6’0, 250.

Defensive End- Chase Bertelsen, Wibaux, 6’1, 230; Will Dissly, Bozeman, 6’5, 255; Koni Dole, Huntley Project, 6’0, 210; Alex Thomas, Great Falls CMR, 6’1, 225.

Defensive Line- Chris Emter, Livingston, 6’4, 270; Kelin King, Malta, 6’1, 240; Jalen Whitley, Billings Skyview, 6’5, 280; Tucker Yates, Colstrip, 6’1, 280.

Outside Linebacker- Cody Henderson, Great Falls, 5’9, 175; Mitch Kaufman, Laurel, 5’9, 180; Tyler Pfennings, Great Falls CMR, 6’1, 215.

Inside Linebacker- Grant Collins, Bozeman, 6’4, 220.

Cornerback- Jacob Bakken, Wibaux, 6’5, 180; Wyatt David, Bozeman, 5’11, 175; Jonathan Koessl, Glasgow, 5’7, 165.

Safety- Zeb Bloom, Simms, 6’1, 205; Ben Herzog, Miles City, 6’0, 175; Shawn Purcell, Hardin, 5’8, 165.

Specialist- Mason Melby, Baker, 5’10, 185; Joe Zimmer, Billings Senior, 5’11, 185.

Kicker- Grant Linde, Billings West, 6’2, 190.

West Roster

Quarterback- Dallas Cook, Butte, 6’4, 235; Jared Trinastich, Columbia Falls, 6’4, 190.

Runningback- Noah James, Kalispell Glacier, 6’2, 200; Wyatt Kingston, Butte Central, 5’10, 185; Boyd Rieke, BIgfork, 5’10, 185.

Wide Receiver- Troy Arnston, Helena, 5’7, 155; Peter Granger, Butte, 6’4, 190; Kale Guldseth, Butte Central, 5’10, 160; Alex Mustard, Missoula Big Sky, 6’1, 195; Connor Sullivan, Ennis, 6’4, 230.

Tight End- Connor McGree, Butte Central, 6’3, 215; Tyler Richtmyer, Missoula Sentinel, 6’2, 215.

Offensive Tackle- Adam Bradley, Flathead, 6’4, 220; Zach Dennehy, Glacier, 6’2, 235; James Foote, Missoula Big Sky, 6’2, 225.

Offensive Guard- Matt Bachmeier, Helena, 5’10, 230; Dylan Koffman, Helena Capital, 6’0, 215; Derek Wham, Ennis, 6’1, 260.

Center- Donovan Hucke, DIllon, 6’0, 280; Jake McElroy, Missoula Loyola, 5’10, 210.

Defensive End-Gavin DeJong, Manhattan, 6’5, 215; Zach Gavlak, Stevensville, 6’4, 220; Kole Swartz, Missoula Hellgate, 6’5, 225. 

Defensive Line- Austin Oldenburger, Manhattan, 6’1, 270; Tyler Sanders, Helena Capital, 6’2, 255; Jadyn Wilson, Missoula Sentinel, 5’9, 245. 

Outside Linebacker- Brady Hislop, Polson, 6’0, 195; Troy Scott, Dillon, 6’3, 215.

Inside Linebacker- Nic Amestoy, Helena, 5’10, 205; Carson King, Dillon, 6’3, 215; Kellen Maharg, Helena Capital, 5’11, 215; Todd Ogden, Kalispell Glacier, 6’2, 200. 

Cornerback- Evan Epperly, Glacier, 5’10, 185; Zach Hollenback, Missoula Loyola, 6’0, 180; David Rizzollo, Whitefish, 5’7, 170; Daniel Van Dyke, Helena Capital, 5’9, 160. 

Safety- McBride Galt, Helena, 6’1, 180; Mick Paffhausen, DIllon, 5’10, 170.

Specialist- Sean Foley, Whitefish, 5’9, 160.

East Alternates

Sam Bronec, Geraldine-Highwood; Jaden Bryant, Belgrae; Keavon Buckley, Bozeman; Shayne Cochran, Culbertson-Bainville; Kordell Cummins, Hardin; John D’Agostino, Bozeman; Chandler D’Agostino, Bozeman; Kyle Duitsman, Havre; Jeff Fisher, Baker; Dace Fisher, Sidney; Nate Hanser, Broadview-Lavina; Jack Hape, Bozeman; Bryce Hawbaker, Billings Central; Trevor Jenson, Havre; Chris Johnson, Bozeman; Riley Kack, Bozeman; Wyatt Laakso, Bozeman; Levi Lynde, Red Lodge; Kurt McInerney, Fairfield; Wyatt McKinlay, Geraldine-Highwood; Jayse McLean, Great Falls CMR; Mike Naro, Bozeman; Andy Nordstrom, Red Lodge; Scott Ollinger, Browning; Reece Quade, Billings Skyview; Morgan Schenk, Fairfield; Dylan Stenseth, Lewistown; Tristan Walker, Belgrade; Logan Wilcox, Lewistown.

West Alternates

Robell Bassett, Missoula Big Sky; Josh Bauder, Hamilton; Zach Bauer, Missoula Hellgate; Connor Benn, Ronan; Axel Bladholm, Kalispell Flathead; Teague Blome, Hamilton; John Brennan, Whitehall; Alex Burnett, BOulder; Tristan Clark, Deer Lodge; Kyle Cochrane, Helena; Christian Coiner, Dillon; Zach Darling, Columbia Falls; Tyler Delaney, Charlo; Sam Fletcher, Boulder; Oliver Grupenhoff, Noxon; Cody Lemmons, Frenchtown; Tony Madsen, Missoula Loyola; Hunter Mahlum, Missoula Hellgate; Caleb McCracken, Kalispell Flathead; Matt McHugh, Missoula Loyola; Ryan Nagel, Missoula Sentinel; Cmaeron Nissen, Bigfork; Kevin Oberweiser, Drummond; Ethan Reich, Anaconda; Connr Schulte, Butte Central; MJ Simkins, Dillon; Gage Smith, Whitefish; Justin Smith, Missoula Sentinel; Caleb Thilmony, Whitefish; Austin Violette, Missoula Sentinel; Johnny Walker, Butte; Brendan Windauer, Kalispell Glacier.