Council seats on ballot Tuesday


On Tuesday Miles City voters will decide who will represent wards 1 and 2 on the Miles City Council.

Running for Ward 1 are incumbent Bill Melnik, Michelle Simpson and Kenneth Gardner.

In Ward 2 incumbent John Uden and Sheena Martin are running for the seat. (Shirley Kapitzke filed but dropped out, though her name is still on the ballot.)

The polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Ward 1 voters go to Washington Middle School, Ward 2 goes to Custer County District High School, Ward 3 goes to Highland Park School and Ward 4 goes to Jefferson. 

Incumbents of wards 3 and 4 and the city judge are running unopposed. They are Councilmen John Hollowell (Ward 3) and Dwayne Andrews (Ward 4) and City Judge Al Homme.

Absentee voting at the Custer County Courthouse closed at noon today. Custer County Election Administrator Linda Corbett said there were 460 absentee ballots by Monday morning. 

She said the turnout was good for it being a non-presidential election, and with only two wards having a race.