CCDHS graduation Sunday


Students in the Custer County District High School Class of 2014 will start new pages of their lives on Sunday, May 25, when they cross the stage in the CCDHS gym and are presented with their diplomas.

Commencement starts at 2 p.m. and is open to the public.

The CCDHS Band, under the direction of Joe Sutton, will play the processional, “When Spring Rains Begin to Fall” by Randall Standridge, “Loyalty” and the recessional. Jamie Ogolin, principal, will present the honor students. Valedictorian Olivia Blunt and Salutatorian Fiona Mott will speak.

Wendy Essex of the Custer County Educational Foundation will present the foundation’s scholarship awards.

Keith Campbell, superintendent, will introduce this year’s graduation speaker, Scott Rapson.

A New Zealand native, Rapson came to the United States in 1996 and played for Shawn Neary on the Miles Community College basketball team. He then attended Western State College of Colorado in Gunnison, where he obtained a major in recreation with an emphasis on leadership and instruction and a minor in coaching. 

For seven years, Rapson lived in Colorado, focusing his career on serving others to improve quality of life for those with developmental disabilities. 

He then turned his focus toward youth, working in special education, in youth detention, and in youth substance abuse clinics in southwest Colorado and New Mexico, while coaching varsity basketball at a local high school.

In 2005, Rapson began his master’s degree in counselor education at Adams State College of Colorado. He completed his internship at CCDHS and was hired as school counselor in 2009, where he has remained since. He also has coached freshmen boys’ basketball, junior high volleyball and assisted with cross-country and tennis.

Rapson enjoys working with youth, coaching, recreating in all aspects eastern Montana has to offer, traveling, spending time with family, and bringing a sense of humor to life whenever possible.

“I feel honored to be chosen as this year’s graduation speaker,” said Rapson. “The graduating class of 2014 consists of a very special group of young people, and I am grateful to have the opportunity to address them as an entire class on the closing of this important chapter in their young lives.”

Following Rapson’s presentation, the CCDHS Choral Department seniors and Chorale, under the direction of Lindsey Wilkerson, will sing “In My Life” by John Lennon and Paul McCartney.

Ogolin, and Mike Ryan and Vinson Gundlach, assistant principals, will present the Class of 2014. Members of the Board of Trustees will award the diplomas. Board of Trustees members for 2013-2014 are Terry Annalora, Carol Bartholomew, Jeff Donnelly, Eric Doeden, Dave Fiechtner, Garve Gierke, Ted Herzog, Donald Hofmann, Jack McNamee, Scot Robinson and Bob Wagner.

Senior class officers are William McFarland, president; Olivia Blunt, vice president; and Courtney Caruso, secretary-treasurer.

The class motto, by Steve Jobs, is “People who are crazy enough to think they can change the world are the ones who do.” The class colors are Mossy Oak camo, bright pink and bright orange. The orange Gerbera Daisy is the class flower.

Candidates for graduation on Sunday afternoon are:

Zachary Allen, Riley Anderson, Sidney Baldonado, Jessica Beard, Katie Beeler, Braden Binford, Ian Blumhorst.

Olivia Blunt (valedictorian, National Honor Society — gold neck braid and Summa Cum Laude — 3.75+ grade point average), Michelle Bradford (Cum Laude — 3.25+ GPA); Joey Brown, Kyle Burch, Troy Burk, Jamie Burman, Jaxson Carter, Courtney Caruso (Honors — 3.0+ GPA); Douglas Coleman, Kyle Collins, Kyle Cool.

Jess Davison (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude — 3.5+ GPA); Sarah Denson (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude), Bridger Doeden.

Tevin Ellingson, Meagan Etchemendy (Summa Cum Laude), Rayna Fink, Wyatt Foulger, Collin Frare, Katelyn Funkhouser.

Haley Glasscock, Matthew Gorton, Peter Guerra, Thomas Gushwa III, Shanniah Hagemeister (Honors), Kasey Hains (Honors), Hannah Harris (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude), Mackenzie Helland, Ben Herzog (National Honor Society), Levi Huette, Koal Johnston, Ethan Jones.

Derek Kearnes, Levi Kenitzer, Joseph Kilen (National Honor Society and Cum Laude), Quinton Kirkwood, Robert Kneeland, Kyle Koester, Hailey Kope, Joyshe Krebsbach (Cum Laude).

Lindsay Lawrence (Magna Cum Laude), Brandi Loomis (Magna Cum Laude), Breanna Luther, Faith Martin (National Honor Society and Summa Cum Laude), Bailey McDowall (Cum Laude), WIlliam McFarland (Magna Cum Laude).

Joby Montgomery, Charles Moore, Joseph Morrison (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude), Loree Morrow, Fiona Mott (salutatorian, National Honor Society and Summa Cum Laude), Angela Muggli (Cum Laude), Lance Myran.

Catherine Nalewaja (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude), Bailey Naylor (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude), Krystal Nelson, Carrie Newby, Dannon Olson (National Honor Society and Summa Cum Laude).

Clint Parsons, Colton Pederson, Cherika Penrod, Amanda Price (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude), Anthony Rainey, Catherine Raymond, William Raymond, Jonathan Rickett, Tanner Robison.

Sergio Salcido, Mariah Schell (National Honor Society and Summa Cum Laude), Tessa Schmidt, Shaylee Singleton (National Honor Society), Casey Sivonen, Cody Slunaker, Bailee Smith, Katrina Stevenson, Courtney Stoddard, Aaron Sturtz (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude).

Beth Sutter (National Honor Society and Magna Cum Laude), Tori Swope (National Honor Society), Savannah Tailleur, Kassidy Thompson, Joseph Treu, Cody Wacker, Willie Wade, Rhonda Wagoner.

Tyiva Walker, Brac Warren, Jessica Weischedel, Madysan White, Reaenn Wiebers, Amanda WIlliams (National Honor Society and Summa Cum Laude), Lauren Wolfe-Petroff (Magna Cum Laude), Lane Woosley, Owen Yeager and Connie Zehms (Summa Cum Laude).