Bakken, Murnion, Schlosser earn 4C MVP honors

Media members were split on who the 4C girls MVP was, but there was no doubt as to the boys MVP.

Jordan’s Carrie Murnion and Terry’s Lexie Schlosser were named co-MVPs for the girls tournament, as voted on by media members covering the tournament.

On the boys side, Wibaux’s Jacob Bakken was a unanimous choice.

Bakken led Wibaux as they cruised to their first 4C title since 2009. He was fourth in the tournament in scoring at 19.3 per game. He also grabbed five rebounds, dished out two assists and had 3.3 steals per game. His numerous dunks in the tournament also stood out in voters’ minds.

Joining Bakken on the boys First Team were Brayden Wacker of Melstone, Josh Stickel of Terry, Josh Smith of Northern Cheyenne and Garrett Gaskill of Broadus.

Wacker was the only player to average a double-double in the tournament. He led all scorers at 26.3 points per game and also led the tournament in rebounding, grabbing 15.7 per game.

Stickel carried Terry into the Southern C, averaging 22 points and grabbing 8.7 rebounds. Terry scored 48.3 points per game as a team.

Smith led Northern Cheyenne with 16.3 points per game, 8.7 rebounds and had three steals per game.

Gaskill averaged 10.3 points per game, leading the Hawks to the championship game.

Chase Bertelsen and Connor Leach of Wibaux were named to the Second Team. Also named were James Riley of Broadus, TJ Green of Jordan and Kyle Schwede of Ekalaka.

Murnion led a balanced Jordan team to the 4C conference title, while Schlosser shot the Lady Terriers into the Southern C tournament.

Murnion averaged 17 points per game for the Lady Mustangs. Schlosser had two 30-point games for Terry, leading the tournament in scoring at 23.7 per game. 

Also named to the girls first team were TIonne Carlson of Northern Cheyenne, Amanda Gaskill of Broadus and Charlie Saylor of Jordan.

Carlson averaged 18 points, eight rebounds and three steals for the Lady Eagles, who reached the 4C title game.

Amanda Gaskill averaged 13 points and eight rebounds for the Lady Hawks, who finished third in the tournament.

Saylor teamed with Murnion to lead the Lady Mustangs to the team title. She averaged 14.7 points per game and also had eight boards per game.

Named to the second team were Caitlin Lantis of Terry, Jessica Dalzell of Ekalaka, Lexi Begger of Wibaux, Miranda Spang of Northern Cheyenne and Taylor Price of Broadus.